EMPA conference and awards

Thursday, 08 April, 2021

EMPA conference and awards

The 2021 EMPA Awards for Excellence in Emergency Communication will be presented at the EMPA conference dinner during the Australian Disaster and Emergency Communications conference.

The conference will be held at the Novotel Sydney Olympic Park from 2–4 June 2021.  

The annual awards have been established to recognise those who have made a significant contribution to emergency communications in Australia and New Zealand. Categories are: emergency communication readiness and resilience; response; recovery; research and media.

Last year’s winners were:

  • Readiness and resilience: SA Country Fire Service
  • Media: The Sydney Morning Herald
  • Response:NSW Rural Fire Service
  • Research: QUT/Bushfire Natural Hazards CRC

Online entries for 2021 are open and everyone is encouraged to submit an entry, whether an individual or a team. There is so much great work going on around Australia and EMPA is committed to encouraging and recognising outstanding achievement. Entries close Friday, 30 April.

For the conference the EMPA committee has put together a program which will not only appeal to emergency management communicators, but also health, local government and infrastructure sectors.

Image credit: ©stock.adobe.com/au/stone36

Related News

Travel bubble opens, with new speakers to join Comms Connect NZ program

With New Zealand travel bubble about to open, new speakers join the Comms Connect NZ program.

ARCIA professional development training program for 2021

The Australian Radio Communications Industry Association is working to resume its professional...

UNSW launches CubeSat satellites

All Australian satellites will enhance weather and maritime surveillance and communications.

  • All content Copyright © 2021 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd